Glaucoma Fellowship

The Glaucoma Fellowship at Wills Eye has been training glaucoma specialists for more than 55 years. During this time, the fellowship program has graduated leaders in the field of ophthalmology throughout the United States and around the world. Members of the glaucoma service and past fellows include presidents of the American Glaucoma Society, senior members of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, as well as ophthalmology department chairs and division chiefs.

The fellowship program strives to prepare glaucoma specialists with superior clinical skills, knowledge, and judgement who will make major contributions to their community. Fellows truly benefit from exposure to cutting-edge surgical techniques, state-of-the-art imaging technology, and diagnosis and management of complex glaucoma cases.

  • Current Wills Eye Glaucoma Fellows

    Lauren Hock, MD graduated Summa Cum Laude from Clemson University in 2012 with a Bachelor of Science in Psychology and a minor in Spanish language. From 2012-2013 she taught English to Ecuadorian college students as a Fulbright U.S. Student Program grantee. She received her Doctor of Medicine from Rush Medical College in Chicago, IL, where she was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Honor Medical Society. Dr. Hock completed her ophthalmology residency at the University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics, where she received the Kolder Memorial Humanitarian Award for exceptional community service and the Arbisser ‘Top Gun’ award for creating an innovative solution to a problem facing the Department of Ophthalmology. Dr. Hock looks forward to training with leaders in the field at Wills and contributing to novel research that may improve treatment options for Philadelphia area glaucoma patients.


    Rebecca Neustein, MD graduated Summa Cum Laude with her Bachelor of Arts in History from the University of Pennsylvania in May, 2012. She completed her medical degree at the Emory University School of Medicine in Atlanta, where she was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha National Honor Society, and graduated Magna Cum Laude in May 2017. She stayed on at Emory for her transitional year and for her ophthalmology residency training. She is honored to be pursuing glaucoma training at Wills this year, where she hopes to continue to hone her surgical and clinical skills, and to engage in practical clinical research with the aim of contributing to a better understanding of glaucoma management. Rebecca aspires to a glaucoma career in which she has the opportunity to develop impactful relationships with her patients, to empower patients with an understanding of their chronic eye disease, and to engage in teaching residents and fellows. Outside of clinic and the OR, Rebecca enjoys spending time with her husband and their two young children.


    Connie Wu, MD graduated Magna Cum Laude from Brown University in December, 2012, with a Bachelor of Science in Human Biology. She received her Doctor of Medicine in May, 2017, from the Warren Alpert Medical School where she completed a Scholarly Concentration in Aging and was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) National Honor Society for outstanding academic achievement. She completed transitional year training at Santa Clara Valley Medical Center at Stanford University and ophthalmology residency at Wills Eye Hospital. She is honored to continue learning from leaders in the field as a glaucoma fellow at Wills, and aims to foster longstanding partnerships with her patients by developing patient-centric approaches to management of chronic eye conditions. She aims to contribute to the academic glaucoma community through teaching and engaging in discussions of disease pathogenesis, novel surgical techniques and treatment options.

  • Wills Eye Glaucoma Fellowship Program Graduates
    2020-2021     Wendy Liu, MD; Daniel Petkovsek, MD; Rahul Raghu, MD
    2019-2020     Lindsay Machen, MD; Robert Purgert, MD; Jason Flamendorf, MD
    2018-2019     Cindy Zheng, MD; Michael Lin, MD; Stephen Moster, MD
    2017-2018     Natasha Nayak, MD; Qian Qian Wang, MD; Alicia Menzes, MD
    2016-2017     Benjamin Abramowitz, MD; Edward Yung, MD; Alice Williams, MD
    2015-2016     Shipra Gupta, MD; Daniel Lee, MD; Qi Cui, MD
    2014-2015     Ardalan Aminlari, MD; Noelle Layer, MD; Sara Kuchar, MD
    2013-2014     Sonya Shah, MD; Timothy Sullivan, MD; Wanda Hu, MD
    2012-2013     Swathi Reddy, MD; Michael Waisbourd, MD; Michael Koval, MD
    2011-2012     Valerie Trubnik, MD; Jesse Richman, MD; Thandeka Myeni, MD