Types of Glaucoma

Glaucoma is a group of eye diseases that is characterized by damage to the optic nerve and gradual vision loss that is often not noticed by the patient themselves until it is very severe. People who have high eye pressure are at higher risk for glaucoma. Most types of glaucoma have no early symptoms, so it's important to get tested regularly, especially if you are at higher risk.

There are several types of glaucoma and each type is different.

Open angle glaucoma is the most common type of glaucoma, and is a slow, progressive condition that leads to damage of the optic nerve.

Primary angle closure glaucoma accounts for 25% of glaucoma worldwide, and has a much higher prevalence in Asia.

Secondary glaucoma refers to any form of glaucoma in which there is an identifiable cause of increased eye pressure that results in optic nerve damage and vision loss.

Pediatric glaucoma is a rare condition that occurs in babies and young children and may be inherited.

Request an Appointment TODAY

If you would like to speak with a Wills Eye representative for help finding a glaucoma physician

CALL 215-928-3197

or click here to make an appointment online.

Meet Wills Eye Glaucoma Doctors